Pennsylvania Townhalls

Ask them anything!
08:01 Marc: I'm not a paid protester, but the one privilege that I do get for organizing today's event is to ask the first question and so I would like to do that. And to me it's a tremendously important one and it is this.

Congressman Thompson do you agree with many people, including as of last night Representative Darrell Issa, that we need to have a special prosecutor appointed to look into the connections between the Trump administration and Russia? And if you don't, why not?

08:57 Good afternoon, Representative Thompson, my name is Leah and I live in the 5th Congressional District. I've lived there since 1976, and I vote in every primary and general election.

My two year old grandson Grant was born with polycystic kidney disease which is genetic. There is no cure, but it is treatable. PKD patients frequently belong to a progression of kidney failure, dialysis and sometimes transplants.

My grandson is currently covered under his parents' health insurance. But what if their employer changes the terms of their coverage, or if his parents lose their insurance? What is Grant going to do on his own?

The recently released, just a couple of days ago, House GOP blueprint to replace the Affordable Care Act includes a proposal to distribute state innovation grants to fund high risk pools. But the policy document provides no funding details. Without enough federal aid, states could be faced with picking up the rest of the tab. Is budget strapped Pennsylvania going to fill the gap with a high risk pool?

Representative Thompson, if my grandson can not afford the premiums in a high risk pool, can he have your insurance policy? Because my grandson deserves to live as much as you do.